Rurouni Kenshin Watch Order

Rurouni Kenshin Watch Order

If you’re a fan of Japanese animation, then you’ve probably heard of Rurouni Kenshin. The anime series tells the story of a former assassin who has sworn to protect the innocent. It’s a great show with amazing action sequences and interesting characters.

Rurouni Kenshin is a popular manga series that has been adapted into an anime, and the original manga was written and illustrated by Nobuhiro Watsuki. The story follows a fictional historical figure named Himura Kenshin, formerly known as the “Hitokiri Battousai,” as he becomes a wanderer to atone for his past sins.


But where should you start if you want to watch it?

Luckily, we’ve assembled the perfect Rurouni Kenshin watch order for new series fans. Whether you’re watching it for the first time or catching up on what you’ve missed, this guide will help you enjoy the anime at its best.


So sit back, relax, and get ready to experience one of the most popular anime series of all!

Rurouni Kenshin Watch Order

  • Rurouni Kenshin: Trust & Betrayal (OVA)
  • Rurouni Kenshin: Season 1
  • Rurouni Kenshin: Season 2
  • Rurouni Kenshin; Season 3
  • Rurouni Kenshin: Reflection (OVA)
  • Rurouni Kenshin: The Motion Picture
  • Rurouni Kenshin: New Kyoto Arc
  Samurai X Gets Opening Theme in official trailer


  • Rurouni Kenshin: The Motion Picture (1997)


  • Rurouni Kenshin: Trust & Betrayal (1999)
  • Rurouni Kenshin: Reflection (2001 – 02)
  • Rurouni Kenshin: New Kyoto Arc (2011 – 12)


  • Rurouni Kenshin Recap (1997)
  • Rurouni Kenshin Special (1998)

Live-Action Films Watch Order

  • Rurouni Kenshin: The Begining
  • Rurouni Kenshin
  • Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno
  • Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends
  • Rurouni Kenshin: The Final


YouTube video

Rurouni Kenshin’s story isn’t about an invincible samurai without feelings. Instead, it focuses on the redemption of his past and all the murders he committed when he was a Battousai by helping those in trouble with his sakabato sword. He battles oppressors of justice and freedom using his powerful Kuni-Tsuzuki technique to show them the error of their ways.


In the series, Kenshin learns from those around him who have their own strengths and weaknesses. Together, they all fight for what they believe in as they work to find their own goals and meaning.

I’m Jay, and. I’m an Engineer and Web Developer. I write about everything, from anime to Tech.